Software Executive Magazine

February/March 2018

Software Executive magazine helps software executives grow their businesses by showcasing the business best practices of our readers, executives from established and innovative software companies.

Issue link: http://digital.softwareexecutivemag.com/i/930305

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 2 of 43

3 SOFTWAREEXECUTIVEMAG.COM FEBRUARY/MARCH 2018 SOFTWARE EXECUTIVE 5340 Fryling Rd., Suite 300 Erie, PA 16510-4672 Telephone: 814 897 9000 Fax: 814 899 5587 WWW.SOFTWAREEXECUTIVEMAG.COM CHIEF EDITOR Matt Pillar / Ext. 240 matt.pillar@SoftwareExecutiveMag.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR Abby Sorensen / Ext. 243 abby.sorensen@SoftwareExecutiveMag.com CEO Jon Howland / Ext. 203 jon.howland@SoftwareExecutiveMag.com PUBLISHER Tim Ulrich / Ext. 245 tim.ulrich@SoftwareExecutiveMag.com MANAGING EDITOR Angel Clark / Ext. 285 angel.clark@SoftwareExecutiveMag.com DIGITAL EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Jon Dudenhoeffer / Ext. 409 jon.dudenhoeffer@SoftwareExecutiveMag.com ART DIRECTOR Anna Cooney / Ext. 258 anna.cooney@SoftwareExecutiveMag.com CIRCULATION DIRECTOR Melinda Reed-Fadden / Ext. 208 subscriptions@SoftwareExecutiveMag.com REPRINTS, ePRINTS, NXTprints The YGS Group 717-730-2268 BusinessSolutions@theYGSgroup.com www.theYGSgroup.com MANAGE SUBSCRIPTIONS Subscription/Address Correction/Cancel www.SoftwareExecutiveMag.com 814-897-9000 subscriptions@SoftwareExecutiveMag.com (Reference 16 digit # on mailing label, title of publication, your name and ZIP code) FEB / MAR 2018 VOL. 2 NO. 1 The conversion rates on face-to-face relationships are significantly higher. We could have 100 people in the office dialing to get in front of customers, and we would still never get to every opportunity. Partnering Success: Getting Past Press Release Mode . . . . . . p. 14 We literally stopped and said, 'If we launch all of these sites at once, support could be an issue.' If after we go live, every single one of them is calling us for support, that would be overwhelming to us. So how do we frontload some of that activity? Engineering A Niche Startup . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . p. 24 There's broad agreement that DevOps will only be effective if at least as much attention is paid to people as to technology. What Software Companies Get Wrong About DevOps . . . . . . . . p. 36 It's still early days for AI today. In 2013, it was very early days. If we didn't build our solution and our sales effort around a vertical that we knew well and had a history in, we'd face a severely steep climb recruiting the development and sales staff we needed to move forward. Five SaaS Sales Suggestions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . p. 20 You might be surprised that your team might actually want to help with the drudgery. Your team wouldn't expect to code up new features but delegate the bug-fixing to you. The Intersection Of Joy, Skill, And Need . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . p. 42

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Software Executive Magazine - February/March 2018